What keeps you going?

Many of us are in a dark place right now, and… so am I. My life felt apart because of PSSD. I used to be a student but my cognition is just too bad now so i dropped out. I also have pretty bad dp/dr, low energy, horrible genital pain and emotional blunting. Which make it hard to function. I feel pretty lost in life and i have no idea how to get ahead.

I’m wondering what keeps you guys going? For me it is my dog, my friends, trying to improve my health, learning more about the human body and hoping for more research and awareness for our conditions.

9 Likes

My respect for myself for going through this and memory of all the beautiful moments of the past. I just know that I owe myself to be cured and have a not limited life again.

6 Likes

I don’t know, I like to see myself as a bit of a stoic. How much can you take? How much pain is too much pain? I’ll find out.

2 Likes

No pictures?

2 Likes

All the same things keep me going too. I also don’t believe in an afterlife, there’s a quote from game of thrones with something along the lines of “death is so final, but life is filled with endless possibilities”

1 Like

I am like that too, a stoic, and I can take the pain but pain is not an active force. I still need something to motivate me to go forward. If I kill myself it won’t be because I can’t take the pain, because I can, but because I feel no reason to continue. I have written about this before. I think the worst part of our condition is the lack of motivation, which is a natural consequence of lacking a positive reward mechanism in the absence of libido.

you think our main motivation is our sex drive ? :sweat_smile: i wouldnt. but our cognitive and physical problems make it really hard to function in daily life and when you dont function you dont get rewards …