Voice change for the worse

I used to be a musician and I used to sing a lot. Since stopping finasteride my singing-voice has completely changed. My falsetto is more or less gone and my chest voice sound much more “metallic” and weak. It’s a dramatic difference from how my voice used to sound. My voice sounded much better before.

Has anyone else experienced this or something similar? Has anyone noticed any change in their voice at all? Feels like I’m kind of alone with this problem cause when searching the forum I find nothing about this.

4 Likes

I think I have seen mention of voice changes on here. Could you write up a member story?

1 Like

Yes my voice is dramatically changed, after pssd it’s more “weak”

1 Like

Hi @Microda, sorry to hear you are experiencing these effects. Yes, this is commonly reported and there’s many mentions of a decreased range of pitch and loudness/increased nasality of voice on the forum. As such this symptom is in our survey. If/when you have been off the drug for at least three months, please take the survey if you are still experiencing symptoms.

Thank you

3 Likes

Hi and thanks for your answer. I will try and write a member story as soon as I have the time. In the meantime could you send me a link to a discussion regarding this particular problem?

Hi and thanks for you answer. I will take the survey as soon as I have the time. If you have a link to a discussion regarding voice change could you please paste the link here? I can’t seen to find them.

There’s a lot of posts that mention it (1, 2, 3, 4 etc) but i’m not aware there’s a specific discussion. Try searching for terms like voice, pitch etc and going through results.

1 Like

My voice has changed, now they say it’s more “feminine” is Disturbing.

Thank you, I’ll look trough the results you sent. Maybe this thread can be the first specific discussion regarding voice change then.