Restoring sensitivity to androgens using bicalutamide - a somewhat crazy proposal

Hey guys. I’ve been lurking on the forum for a while now and wanted to chime in on the discussions. I haven’t filled out a symptom chart yet but to give some background I took propecia for a good 3 months and quit due to effects on libido and energy level, which have persisted for 8 years since quitting.

I used to be a prostate cancer researcher and received my PhD in pharmacology and I am hoping I can contribute to and learn more from some of the dialog going on here. After reading a ton of posts about things people have tried, from my perspective it really appears to be an issue of insensitivity to androgens/testosterone (as many of you have noted). This is apparent by the fact that, although there are individuals with dramatically lowered T levels, many of us have normal or only slightly lowered T levels (including myself) yet experience the same side effects. Furthermore, increasing testosterone using gels or drugs which boost T (e.g., clomid) often have a minimal effect or if they do have an effect, the results do not persist.

This leads me to agree with thoughts on here posted by Awor and other members that the cause is primarily an epigenetic one. To summarize, while taking propecia, our T levels skyrocketed to supraphysiological levels and when we stopped taking propecia, our bodies were fully exposed to these levels. As a compensatory mechanism, I am hypothesizing that key genes involved in androgen response were methylated (i.e., shut down) to dampen the response to these super high levels of T as our bodies tried to protect themselves. The problem is that after our bodies equilibrated to the lower levels, the genes remained methylated thereby maintaining this poor response to T despite having physiologically normal levels of testosterone. Thus, all the treatments people have taken to boost their T levels super high would only reinforce this negative feedback loop.