Research: Finasteride, GABA-A and mental/anxiety problems

Came across this 2003 thread from a hairloss forum, the user “Moeman” pulled together a bunch of research about Finasteride’s effects on GABA-A, anxiety and mental function. Have a read through, it only further confirms what some of us experienced - brain fog.

hairlosshelp.com/forums/mess … SGDBTABLE=

I have pasted his words verbatim below, in case that forum goes offline there will be a record here.

MOEMAN’s post:

Notes

This is a followup to my initial post asking for feedback on the mental/emotional side effects of finasteride. Someone on HLH mentioned a possible link between GABA, mental function and finasteride. I followed up with some research. This is what I could piece together- i don’t want to be alarmist but as far as I’m concerned it’s not positive news…

Why is this a concern to me… as i mentioned i have felt a little cloudy mentally for sometime… i’m a professional, finished my undergraduate degree at a decent university with a 3.9 GPA, high school with a 97% average… i thought i’d do an IQ test yesterday to give me an idea of whether i was just imagining this… I scored 105 (roughly consistent on 3 different tests). Lots of things can affect your IQ and i’m not necessarily attributing it all or at all to finasteride but my subjective decline seemed to onset with my use of proscar. (FYI i’m in otherwise good health and on no other medications, and use no illicit drugs… the rare toke aside)

Even for those who haven’t noticed any negative effects- read the summary at least. It’s important to know how finasteride impacts on your central nervous system.

Disclaimer
I do not have any particular expertise in the subject material I present here so take it with a grain of salt. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Summary- this might initially seem overly technical but it’s not that hard to follow.