Struggling to cope with career and future

I need advice in regards to my career and future. I am currently a college student. Prior to this I was on campus but since I developed this condition I have had to move back home and switch to online learning. I’m really concerned in regards to how I’m going to function in the workforce. Right now my college coursework is very difficult- it’s very hard to stay focused and read the material. Prior to this I was a 4.0 student but now I’m fighting just to scrape by. Do you guys have any tips? How do you make a living? Obviously it’s hard to stay motivated with the anhedonia, but I tell myself that I need to get a well-paying job to contribute more funds to this issue. Do you guys have any advice?

My tip would be: Don’t hesitate to ask help from your peers and teachers despite the distance, plan a call with someone who understands the stuff better.

Also, it’s not just the donations that are important, you also need a well-paying job to support yourself and increase your quality of living. Independent adult life is very expensive and with a pretty much universally dwindling economy in the western world having a good job or good credentials to fall back on is only going to get more important.

As someone with a not-so-well-paying job I can assure you that dealing with PFS on top of a daily grind that doesn’t do much for my savings is pretty tough. If I had an opportunity to jump on a career path that improved my financial life a lot I think that would actually make me feel a lot better overall.

So I would say soldier on and make sure you do your homework. College/university is only a couple of years of your life anyway. You’ll be grateful for your own perseverance in the end.

1 Like