Recent Marked Improvement

Hi All,
I’ve recently been feeling a good deal better after 2 months of fairly debilitating symptoms. I’m currently 5 months off of the drug and experienced my most pronounced ‘crash’ two months after quitting. My primary symptoms are mostly two-fold: head pressure/dizziness (with the occasional accompanying saccadic eye problems) and acute insomnia. I’ve done a prodigious amount of research over the past few months (my background is in biology), manifold blood and saliva tests, and am taking quite a few supplements and medications to counteract my problems to very good effect, so I thought I’d share. The unfortunate problem for us is that there is no one-size-fits-all solution and our problems run the gamut of second and third order effects induced from the drug.

Firstly, here are the results of my 24 salivary cortisol test. To preface, I’ve never had anxiety, depression, or sleep problems in my life. Now, however, I have extreme hypercortisolism (7 times higher than the low range for AM cortisol), and a further blood test confirmed I have very high serum catecholamine levels as well. A bit of conjecture is that our cortisol clearance pathway has been mightily obstructed (5AR mediates one route of cortisol reduction in the liver). This squares with the symptoms I was feeling at night–rapid heartbeat, nighttime jerks, anxiety, and general unsettledness. There’s no feedback loop on adrenaline production and PNMT, the enzyme that synthesizes epinephrine, is further potentiated by glucocorticoids. In effect, I was on a runaway train of stress and adrenaline production.

I wanted to address my sleep problems first as this was the most debilitating and likely lead to various other irregularities in my most recent blood test as compared the one I did a week after I crashed. I’ll include my recent blood test results in my user story.

53%20AM