PFS recovery is “not impossible. “ In June 2017 I fully recovered (except sleep) - Anonymous1968's post-PFS journal

Aloha. First a bit about me:

My profile:

https://forum.propeciahelp.com/t/took-f-for-17-yrs/9215

ABOUT ME: In summary, I’m a 50yo retired-for-now lawyer. I religiously took 1mg FIN daily from 1999-2014. I started losing the ability to sleep in June 2014 and had no clue it was related to FIN. By Dec I had stopped sleeping ENTIRELY and discontinued FIN. 10 days later post-finasteride exploded my brain!

The fantastic news is that I VERY FORTUNATELY recovered 100% from total loss of libido (after 2 years), total physical impotence (2.5 years), frightening delusions (2 months), total loss of emotionality/compassion/feelings (6 months), breast development (2 months), intense penis pain (1 month), and - oddly - my facial hair 100% stopped growing for 4 months and then resumed normal growth!

The bad news is my sleep remains profoundly dysfunctional. I very rarely reach unconsciousness and just “heavy rest” 4 hours at night - with Belsomra sleeping pill - and take “heavy rest” naps 1-2 times randomly.

January 2020 Update:

Hello again and happy new year! I’m a 51yo attorney in Washington DC. I took FIN daily from 1999 until Dec 2014, then “crashed” ten days later. I eventually 100% recovered from numerous horrific PFS maladies as follows:

6 months total loss of emotionality

24 months total loss of libido

30 months total loss of sexual elections

6 months body feminization (breast development, thinning)

2 months “raccoon eyes”

2 months delusions

1 month penis pain

Lengthy extreme disorientation/feeling unreal

Unfortunately I still suffer extreme sleep dysfunction, which began June 2014. (See my previous posts.)