How to deal with family and friends who believe you have mental health problems?

I think this is another one of the worst things about this condition. My parents, but also my uncles and some of my friends, can’t believe that I could have a crash if I take one of those multivitamins they buy in supermarkets. They think this is absolutely impossible even to refuse Vit D supplements, which almost everyone takes on a daily basis. They don’t believe it’s possible, and with my pasts of depression they think this is a mental health problem, hypochondriac delirium they call it.

I made them read various scientific articles on PSSD and PFS, I work in the medical field, my parents are also health professionals. But they absolutely cannot believe that I can develop damage from a multivitamin.

How do you handle this problem with family and friends, do they manage to understand that you cannot take certain substances that they take regularly without problems?

1 Like

Yeah, this a really tough one. I’m very fortunate in that almost everyone I’ve told believed me without much question other than my Dad.

Unfortunately, I have to say it’s made me feel an awful lot of anger towards him - and on a daily basis. To experience such a dystopian event that quite literally decimates every aspect of your life and have someone with no knowledge of the drug responsible and no knowledge of the human endocrine system or other related biological functions question the validity of the problem as though they’re some sort of authority on the issue is quite infuriating. Post 5AR-inhibitor syndromes are a complexity of science that’s beyond most doctors and given many GPs likely couldn’t even explain to you how finasteride works there are very few people on Earth who actually have a licence to form an opinion on the plausibility of this issue; our friends and family members almost certainly don’t have that entitlement.