Finasteride Exposure via partner?

Hey guys,

I’m a 26 year old guy, from the USA, longtime lurker here, who has been battling a rotating cast of symptoms since quitting fin around 2 months ago. I seem to improve for a little while followed by more crashes, sometimes small crashes, sometimes bad. Its mostly been fatigue and ED for me.

I’ve also been dating another guy for a few months. Last night, I realized he had also been taking fin for a while. I immediately tried to warn him about symptoms but it was just really overwhelming and hard to discuss something as scary as PFS with someone I only just started dating.

I realize this may be TMI, or it may not be applicable to the vast majority of you, but now I’m afraid there could be trace amounts of fin in his saliva/semen that are causing me to crash after I spend time with him? Again, I’m sorry if this is TMI but I didn’t know where else to turn.

I appreciate you guys. Thanks.

Welcome to the forum!

First of all, I am not a doctor, so take everything I say with a grain of salt.

I think it is a valid reason for concern.
I don’t think there is any specific Finasteride-specific knowledge about this situation specifically. You could maybe try to look up studies that were conducted to research the possibility of fetal abnormalities due to the paternal parent using Finasteride in the time of conception, and use that as a basis for how likely you think it is that Finasteride is potentially transferred via semen. I have seen some studies where Finasteride effect on fetus is studied but I think these were mostly about the maternal partner taking Finasteride systemically (for god knows what reason).

Based on my knowledge I am inclined to say: Yes, you could theoretically possibly be exposed to Finasteride via his semen, especially when you are exposed to it via your rectum, since absorption into the bloodstream is more likely via that route.