Fight PFS depression

My dear friends,
I am a health care professional who was prescribed finasteride for an enlarged prostate in early 2018. Besides being a physician, I had never heard of PFS. Within a few weeks of starting finasteride I started developing inexplicable anxiety. I didn’t understand why initially but I soon figured out it was the finasteride. I quit the medication in late March and the anxiety improved but by May I was hit hard by PFS. Of all the symptoms, the most severe was depression. As I searched for answers and treatments I realized there were almost none. I looked at the “PFS foundation” site and there are several articles but the articles basically described the symptoms of PFS without giving any help or treatment/management advice. What was even more concerning is that as I searched I did not find any published article on PFS related depression and I did not see that anyone is studying it to determine its pattern, its prognosis, its duration, its evolution etc. I emailed the “PFS foundation” about this but got no reply.

In medicine, the path to finding treatments/solutions is to understand a disease. Being a physician, I am able to understand the pattern of my symptoms better. However I don’t know if other PFS patients have symptoms with similar patterns. Since I did not see that anyone is addressing PFS related depression and being that I am in health care and have research background, I decided to move ahead myself and reach out to other PFS patients suffering from depression. I would like to gather information about patient’s depression to determine whether there is a pattern to the symptoms, how it evolves over time, what has been helpful, what has made things worst etc and use the information to help each other and possibly stimulate further study. The study would be anonymous, meaning I don’t need names or locations, just what has happened and what is happening.